In my previous post I made the claim that truth is a way of being in the world and therefore that it is relational, dynamic and that it only can be articulated when the Other is looked upon as our beloved. For many people such a statement is seemingly hard to accept since it implicitly makes modernistic foundationalism impossible and the consequence is that people like myself are often ostracized because of our apparent relativism. In conversations I am accordingly faced with the question whether it is absolutely true that truth is not absolute. It is a tricky one, or so it seems, until one realize that it implies that truth, humanly speaking, is to be understood in theoretical and absolute terms. In other words, the question contains the underlying assumption that my understanding of truth must be judged from a perspective I adamantly denies any validity.

The foundationalists’ belief in static, absolute truth is not only erroneous, it also carries a very real potential of becoming oppressive since its advocates’ has elevated their own, particular perspectives to the level of universality while ignoring the perspective of the Other. In theological language this claim of a God’s eye view of the world is in my opinion best described as idolatrous.

To be clear, I am not accepting the critique of my understanding as relativistic. It is not relativistic; it is relational.

